Case study – NSW Work Injury Damages

by | Injury Compensation, NSW, Personal Injury, Workcover | Workers Compensation

Relevant Details

  • Age group:               50-55
  • Injuries:                    Cervical Spine, Head, Psychological
  • Occupation:             Manufacturing

Nature of Claim

The claimant suffered a significant injury to their cervical spine whilst working in their trade–qualified profession. The claimant lodged a NSW workers compensation claim and after all reasonable treatment, was assessed as suffering a whole person impairment exceeding 15%. The claimant elected to lodge a claim for work injury damages against their former employer.

The claimant alleged that their employer breached their duty of care and that breach resulted in personal injury. The claim was wholly disputed by the defendant, including all allegations of negligence, injury, loss, and damage.

Background and Employment

The claimant had extensive experience in the manufacturing and production industry, including previous roles in fabrication, welding, and construction. The claimant had also held senior management positions which involved staff supervision, administrative oversight and task delegation. At the time of injury, the claimant was earning a considerable wage from employment.

After sustaining the cervical spine injury, the claimant experienced extreme difficulty completing heavy manual type tasks such as lifting metal, wearing a welding mask, and using handheld tools. The effect of the claimant’s cervical spine injury extended beyond the workplace and eventually lead to the development of a secondary psychological injury.

Claim Process

  • The claimant initially lodged a NSW workers compensation claim with the State Insurance Regulatory Authority (‘SIRA’) and received statutory claim benefits such as weekly wages, treatment funding and rehabilitation related expenses including a cervical spine surgery.
  • Once the claimant’s injuries had reached maximum medical improvement, they were assessed for permanent impairment and it was determined that their degree of whole person impairment (‘WPI’) exceeded 15% which meant they were entitled to commence a work injury damages claim.
  • Main Lawyers assisted the claimant by drawing the work injury damages claim and gathering the required evidence to support the claim including additional independent medico-legal reports and witness statements.
  • The insurer assessed the claim and denied liability in full. As is required, the parties participated in a mediation before the Personal Injury Commission but were unable to resolve the claim.
  • Thereafter court proceedings were commenced which ultimately resulted in the insurer offering to resolve the claim for an amount significantly greater than what was previously offered. The claimant accepted the offer and the court proceedings were discontinued.

The Result

Thereafter court proceedings were commenced which ultimately resulted in the insurer offering to resolve the claim for an amount significantly greater than what was previously offered. The claimant accepted the offer and the court proceedings were discontinued.

    Despite the inherent risks of litigation, the claimant decided to stand firm and commence court proceedings and within eight (8) months of filing the proceedings in the NSW court, the claimant settled the claim for a sum of damages that was acceptable to them.

    Recent Articles

    Public Liability Case Study Balcony Fall

    Relevant Details Age group:        50-55   Injuries:             Lumbar Spine, Psychological Occupation:      Labourer Key issues:        Liability, Medico-Legal Evidence (IME) Background The claimant suffered a serious lumbar spine injury when they fell from a...

    NSW Workers Compensation Commutation

    Relevant Details Age group:        50-55   Injuries:             Lumbar spine, Psychological Occupation:      Labourer Key issues:        Commutation Eligibility Background The claim relates to a workplace injury resulting in a severe lumbar spine injury sustained...

    NSW Workers Compensation Jurisdictional Dispute Case Study

    Relevant Details Age group:        40-45   Injuries:             Lumbar spine Occupation:      Manager Key issues:        Jurisdiction (NSW/QLD) Background The claimant suffered a lumbar spine injury in a slip and fall incident that occurred whilst they were...

    NSW Workers Compensation Changes: Psychological Injuries

    On 1 July 2026, a raft of amendments to the NSW workers’ compensation legislation came into effect which have significantly changed the way the system deals with psychological injury claims.A New Definition: Relevant Events Under the new provisions, a worker’s...

    What To Do If Your Insurance Claim is Denied

    Insurance is meant to be a safeguard for when the unexpected or worst happens. Flood, car accidents, medical negligence, property damage, business claims, loss of life, injury and illness can all turn you and your family’s life upside down. So, what do you do if...

    Table showing typical timeframes for Total and Permanent Disability (TPD) claims: 6–9 months for straightforward claims, 12–18 months for complex claims, and 18–24 months for contested claims.

    How Long Does a TPD Claim Take and What Can Delay It?

    Having Total and Permanent Disability (TPD) insurance gives you a financial lifeline if you’re forced out of work due to a serious injury or illness. Even if you have cover, you may not know how to make a claim or how long it will take to receive a payout if you’re...

    Can you get workers compensation if the injury was your fault?

    Every Australian worker has the right to work in a safe environment. To ensure this, your employer has a duty of care to you and all their workers. They must take all reasonable steps to keep you safe when they ask you to perform work.This duty of care applies no...

    Case study – Total & Permanent Disability (TPD)

    Relevant Details Age group:               50-55 Injuries:                    Wrists, Hands, Psychological Occupation:             Administrative Nature of Claim The claimant lodged a Total and Permanent Disability (TPD) claim through their superannuation fund...

    SETTLEMENT CALCULATOR

    SERVICES

    h

    ARTICLES

    CONTACT